Travel moods: Starting Over

    I wonder sometimes if everyone gets the urge to abruptly pull up stakes and leave their whole life behind. Pack light, go to the airport, start over somewhere else. No forwarding address on file. This number is no longer in service.

    I wonder if perhaps there is a bit of Gypsy in my roots. I think I like the idea.

    I know it’s not uncommon, but maybe not everyone gets that feeling. I have friends who live in the same town they grew up in, and while they don’t mind going away once in a while, they enjoy having the deep roots. One friend, even when he leaves town, tends to turn conversations with strangers into a game of six-degrees-of-separation: He’s not looking to break all his ties; he’s looking for the ways that everything ties back to the world he knows.

    For me, the mood to leave my whole life behind is sporadic but strong. It usually comes when I’m feeling like I’m making a mess of things in one way or another, and a clean slate with no history sounds good. After all, if there were no witnesses to my real-or-imagined failure, maybe it didn’t happen.

    One friend reminds me that I can’t really do that: I would still bring me along after all, so ultimately it would still be the same life in a new place.

    He’s right, of course. I hate when he’s right.

    In any case, nothing will cure me of the “leave this all behind” sensation faster than, say, a deep one-on-one conversation with one of my girlfriends. Seeing (or even thinking about) my nieces. Walking into my church and being warmly greeted by familiar faces.

    Oh, I think I want to start over somewhere nobody knows me. But in reality, it’s nice to be known.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

Leave a Reply

