Don’t trust the post office with your mail

A USPS van on Cambridge Street in Harvard Squa...

Image via Wikipedia

Just before I left for my recent business trip, I had the post office hold my mail. I asked them to redeliver the held mail so that it would be here on the same day I arrived. And then, for good measure, I put in the notes “PLEASE DELIVER ALL HELD MAIL ON [DATE]”. Which seems like overkill, but I’ve dealt with my local post office often enough to know that “trust that they will actually do what the form says” is not necessarily a good bet.  And yet, and yet… I return to no mail. I waited for the postal carrier today (lovely, friendly lady) but she did not have the held mail either. And that point, the post office was closed. When will I get the mail they held (there is virtually no chance that I received NO junk mail or bills for a week)?  I don’t know.

Whatever you do, don’t trust the post office with your mail.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to Don’t trust the post office with your mail

  1. Pingback: Don’t trust the post office (revisited) « aka gringita

Leave a Reply

