Halloween

Halloween icon

Image via Wikipedia

It’s getting dark. Somewhere, they’re getting ready for the hunt. It’s only a matter of time.

Shhhh. Keep your voice down; they’ll hear you.

The shades are pulled. The lights are off, despite the gathering darkness outside. The gloom deepens.

It doesn’t matter. Even without any signs of life, they will come. They always come, for their terrible harvest of…

candy.

I loathe Halloween. I can’t remember a time I didn’t loathe Halloween (although I DO remember being a big fan of the candy).

I read a stat that 33% of adults look forward to dressing up for Halloween. Who are these people, I wonder?

I also don’t understand the fascination with horror movies. Why do people like being scared? I hate that. I don’t want things jumping out at me. I don’t like seeing horrible things and I want to imagine them even less. I prefer to sleep without need of nightlights, thankyouverymuch.

But I digress.

As I was saying, they are out there… somewhere. Trick-or-treaters. Candy-harvesters. Neighbors I don’t know will bring children I don’t know and take food no one should eat, from anyone who will give it to them. Usually I work late on Halloween, pretty much whether I need to or not. I prefer to make myself scarce.

Plus, I honestly cannot have candy in my house and maintain ANY self-control.

But Halloween is on a Sunday this year. There’s nowhere to go. Nowhere to run.

They’re out there. Coming… soon. Shhhh. Be quiet. They’ll hear you.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

Leave a Reply

