They’re rushing the holiday in too soon

Musical note nicu bucule 02

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday, (at least) two of the radio stations near me converted to “all Christmas carols, all the time.”  I shouldn’t be shocked by this. The first year one channel converted for the last 12 days before Christmas. Must have been a hit, because the next year it was all of December, and more channels jumped on board. It backed up to the day after Thanksgiving. And now, there I was, 1 week to Thanksgiving, with “Rocking Around the Christmas Tree” on the air.

For the record, I can listen to “Rocking Around the Christmas Tree” approximately ONCE a season. I have a higher tolerance for “Holly Jolly Christmas” and “All I Want for Christmas Is You.” I can listen to the Choir sing “The Little Drummer Boy” almost every time it comes on (it doesn’t get a lot of airtime, generally) and I have a zero-tolerance policy for the dogs barking “Jingle Bells.”

The reason they start this early is that the advertisers want us thinking about Christmas earlier and earlier. And to be fair, because I loathe the entire process, I have gotten a decent jump on my holiday shopping (thanks Amazon Prime!)  But the other side of getting us started this early is that by the time the real holiday season arrives, we will all be all-Christmased-out. I will be sick of hearing about sales and schmaltzy holiday commercials, I will not be up for anything but the most truly meaningful of Christmas carols (my girls can sing “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” to me any time of year, and I’m a happy person), and basically I will be DONE with Christmas, in the not-what-it’s-about-anyway sense.

So yeah, two radio stations converted yesterday. This morning I realized it’s 2 of the 3 that get good reception in the house. I am wondering if the 3rd has plans to change over too.

Last night one of the cable channels also played “The Grinch.” You know, the original cartoon adaptation of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” by Dr. Seuss. I love that. I could watch that over and over. “All the Whos down in Whoville liked Christmas a lot. But the Grinch who lived north of Whoville did NOT. The Grinch hated Christmas, the whole Christmas season…” (Yes, I could go on about his tight shoes and small heart, but I won’t.)  Yes, I love the Grinch. I love the meter of the lines, so perfectly Seussical. I love the Who song, welcoming Christmas (and all it means). And I love how all it takes is for the Grinch to get a hint that maybe Christmas isn’t about the commercial aspects, and that small opening in his shrunken heart lets bigger truth in. The Whos think his heart suddenly grew much bigger. And perhaps it did – though I would posit that it’s in the wrong place: it was not cause but effect – “and then, the true meaning of Christmas came through, and the Grinch found the strength of 10 Grinches, plus 2.”  I would call that a conversion moment.

Yes, I love the Grinch; it’s probably my favorite Christmas show, other than A Charlie Brown Christmas (don’t get me wrong, I like Rudolph and all the others that I remember from when I was a girl, but not quite in the same way). Heck, I am pretty sure I own both of them. My problem is not that they had it on. It’s that it’s not even Thanksgiving. If all the good Christmas shows come on this early in the season, there just isn’t anything good left by the time you really WANT to watch those shows.

And what actually happened to THANKSGIVING in the mix? Only the grocery stores seem to want you to remember about Thanksgiving as a separate holiday.

Can’t I just have some time to stop and be Thankful for Thanksgiving? Do we have to rush past it? Christmas is a wonderful holiday, but each in its own time.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

Leave a Reply

