Many hands…

Snowflake magnified usda

Image via Wikipedia

The promised storm came through and dumped 8 inches of snow on us. But for all that, it wasn’t a bad snow. Bitter cold and a howling wind… but no ice came with it. And the snow itself, despite its volume, is fairly light.  My office had a late open, but I worked from home, delaying the inevitable digout. The snow stopped in the early morning, and throughout the day I could hear the sounds of plows and shovels doing their work. The lots and walkways were cleared by midday.

My car, on the other hand, was plowed in. The 8 inches everywhere else was 2 feet behind my car.

OK, so…

Mercy #1: It wasn’t a wet, heavy snow, so I wasn’t in agony trying to move it.

I got one whole side of my car dug out, and started to make headway on the pile behind my car. One of my elderly neighbors, coming in when I was almost done, noted afterward that I must be a strong woman.

Ha, so not!  At least not in the physical sense (and what have I that I was not given?) …

My secret to solo snow removal is to keep making small inroads, a little at a time, over and over again. And to stop every so often to warm my perpetually frozen fingers.

Mercy #2: When I got about 2/3 of the way done with the mess behind my car, someone else came over and helped me finish up. I didn’t know him, but it seemed like it took him about 2 shovels full to get through that pile of snow.

After we were done, as I was wrapping up the detail work, all I kept thinking was that many hands make the load lighter.

This is a Haitian proverb, and I suppose it came so easily to mind because on their blog, Dromedary Records recently revisited the genesis of their compilation album, Make the Load Lighter, whose proceeds went (and go) to Haitian relief.  (I find myself presently in the mood to give it another listen.) Maybe it was also on my mind because one of my first Freshly Pressed reads here on WordPress was about visiting Haiti post-earthquake, and I’ve been following the spiritual journey of a sister in Christ from Haiti, while on Wednesday another one reminded me of Dromedary specifically.

Lots of small thoughts converging in a moment.

In any case, it felt full circle. I was thankful for that angel in the guise of a neighbor. Many hands did make the load lighter.

Where can my hands make someone else’s load lighter?
Establish the work of my hands, o Lord.


About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

2 Responses to Many hands…

  1. territerri says:

    It seems we all dread and complain about nasty weather, but there is something about it that brings people together. Maybe we need a little bit of nasty weather in our lives now and then.

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      Indeed. A little hardship (preferrably a very little hardship, given the choice) does us good… it brings us together and makes us thankful for all the things we take for granted! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

