Three day bliss

A birthday cake

Image via Wikipedia

My company gives us President’s Day off, so I had a three-day weekend.

I visited my parents. My sister & her family came up, and we celebrated the February birthdays together (and the one January birthday that I had missed).

My nieces have colds that I can already feel myself getting… but I wouldn’t trade one single hug and kiss from my girls.

All the ladies ran over to the local used book store… we traded in some and bought others. Which means I should report the addition of The Five People You Meet in Heaven (Mitch Albom) to this year’s reading list (not unlike Tuesdays With Morrie and For One More Day; light and easy language that belies depth of emotion. I cried).

We also watched Up which I had seen on the flight to Italy last year with my sister, but my parents hadn’t yet.

I had originally planned to head home Sunday night — but what the heck, I had today off anyway. So I stuck around. We had Chinese food (something I haven’t done in about a year), and after the ‘rents headed off to bed, I picked up the copy of Pirate Latitudes (Michael Crichton) that my dad had just finished.  Typical Crichton fare – not terribly deep but action-packed and probably easily adapted to film – but with a certain historical richness and with less of the deus ex machina ending than, say, Congo.

Slow and easy morning, coffee and crosswords. Pack the car, drive home. It snowed here last night, as evidenced by the inch of snow on the walkways.  Good to be home and out of the cold. Easy, lazy afternoon… three-day bliss.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

Leave a Reply

