Evening catatonia

Camp Iguana laundry room.

Not My Laundry Room (though similar in that I am not there doing any laundry): Public Domain Image via Wikipedia

I don’t know what happens to my brain when I get home from work, but I go from being a driven, organized little achiever, to a virtual slug. Honestly, I do not know what’s wrong with me. I have a list as long as my arm of things I could be getting done… should be getting done. Are they getting done? No, they are not.

The laundry is not getting done, ostensibly because it’s pouring rain (technically a little rain is good in that nobody wants to haul their clothes back and forth to the laundry room so the wait times for machines drop to approaching zero, but too much rain and it’s not even worth it… my clean clothes would be rain-soaked in the time it would take me to get them back here). That’s true, but that’s not really why the laundry isn’t getting done, because even if it wasn’t raining I still wouldn’t be doing it. I need to vacuum and sweep and tidy before the ladies come over on Saturday morning, but I’m not. Instead I am sitting here, laptop on lap … not even accomplishing the tax-related tasks that need to get done.

It’s not that there’s not a list of things to do, or that there isn’t time to do them (although I did get home about 2 hours later than usual tonight).

It’s that my get-up-and-go got up and left.

Well, the nice thing about working from home is that I can accomplish a great many small tasks during time that would otherwise have been wasted in commuting. Not to mention the benefit of being home to putter at lunchtime instead of cooped up in the office, waiting on line in the cafeteria. So in theory I will get some things done tomorrow.

Because I am clearly not going to get them done tonight.

PS. I did order groceries from Peapod, for delivery tomorrow. So technically I did accomplish something.  The night is not a total loss.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

4 Responses to Evening catatonia

  1. markp427 says:

    I love working from home! Especially now that gas prices are hovering around $4 a gallon. Plus, you know…I don’t have to worry about embarrassing moments involving my boss talking about me and not hearing a word he’s said. 😉

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      Ha! Thanks man.

      My favorite part of working from home is working in my jammies. My company believes in suits… to be productive in pajamas is so… countercultural. Look at me: I’m a rebel. I’m a revolutionary. I’m… just glad it’s Friday.

      Like

  2. Patti says:

    Getting the grocery shopping done, even online – definitely counts! Even working through the laundry/rain issue is work. Consider it an evening well spent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

