Better late than never

"Praying Hands" (study for an Apostl...

Image via Wikipedia

The ladies came over on Saturday morning, as planned.  I literally had just enough coffee for the occasion. I served a fruit salad; L– brought a whole wheat version of monkey bread. We laughed. We cried.

One of them shared something she’s going through… everyone has a story… and while it is not mine to share I can say that my heart aches for her, my prayers are for her, and I am grateful for even the smallest way I (we) can be a blessing to her.

The ladies left. I tidied. Ran errands. Napped. Chilled out.

My pastor called during the day Saturday. Left me a message. Expressing concern because I hadn’t been in church in a while. Acknowledging that I might simply have been away. But wanting to reach out in case anything was wrong.

It is really touching that my church’s leadership will reach out when I haven’t been around. It is really not a good sign that they need to, since I’ve really been OK. Just… drifting.

And drifting is far better suited to snow than to people.

So here it is, Sunday. I made it to church today.

I also got in a workout this afternoon. Or most of one. (Wow, I’ve gotten out of shape.)

So basically, it was a day for doing the things I should have been doing all along.

Better late than never.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

2 Responses to Better late than never

  1. markp427 says:

    Like a shepherd watching over his flock. That’s touching.
    I’m a heathen myself, so I don’t have any clergy watching over me, lol.
    (Actually, I almost went today on a whim).

    Like

Leave a Reply

