Bedtime and then some

Sleeping, male baby cat. Red hair.

Image via Wikipedia

Three hours of sleep is nowhere near sufficient. I honestly don’t know how people with new babies manage to do it and not become psychotic in the process.

The odd thing is that I came home from work last night tired. I mean, drag myself into my place and collapse on the couch tired. I probably could have fallen asleep right then and there.

I could have. But I didn’t. I didn’t want to be up at 1AM, wide awake and wandering the night. That is specifically what I did NOT want.

But there was no sleep to be had last night. Suddenly I was nocturnal; not by nature or design. In the end I suppose it could be said that while it was a miserable night for sleeping, it was a wonderful night for, well, praying.

I may not have wanted or intended to, but I saw 1… 2… 3…

At 3:30 I was able to get resettled – thinking that He would have to be my rest, because I wasn’t going to have had enough any other way – and sometime shortly thereafter I fell asleep – and slept hard – until the 6:15AM alarm.  I did not hit snooze. I am not entirely sure that this was not because I had momentarily forgotten how to work it. I got up and got going.

I was considerably less of the dragging-myself-around kind of tired, but considerably more of the slower-on-the-uptake-and-easily-overtaxed variety.

It’s funny how when I’m overtired even simple things are hard and overwhelming.

Honestly, how DO new parents do it? I mean, it was only one day of this for me, not months on end. And I was occasionally and inexplicably overwhelmed by stupid office things; I can’t imagine having to take care of a little person while sleep deprived.

God bless them, every one.

It was a long day, but the sun was still shining as I left the office (daylight savings isn’t all bad). I made it home. I got in a workout. I have chatted and chilled, eaten and eased.

It is not all that terribly late, but I am ready for bed. 

Dear Lord, give me rest. Oh, and good sleep and sweet dreams to all those parents of small children, too.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

6 Responses to Bedtime and then some

  1. Artswebshow says:

    lol, i’m glad that i dont have to.
    I guess one day i’ll have to ride the rollercoaster of fatherhood. lol
    Until then i’ll just smile and tell you you’ll get through it. lol

    Like

  2. markp427 says:

    I look back on it all and wonder how I survived the infant years myself, although I do have some nice memories of watching the sun rise while cradling my newborn and rocking her to sleep. I’m glad my ex and I took turns with bottle/diaper duty in the middle of the night. We got through it with our sanity (mostly) intact.

    Like

  3. Patti says:

    Impressive that you got in a workout! Rest well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

