Working at home is better

Memorial Day Flags

Image by eddiecoyote via Flickr

I didn’t have to commute. And no commute means …

time to sleep in later
while still starting earlier
and not burning through extra gas (at these prices)

And hazelnut coffee with a hint of cinnamon.

Plus… suits schmoots! I love working in PJs.

And taking a break to take a shower.

And dressing in comfortable, completely-unacceptable-at-the-office clothes.

And getting work stuff done, while getting a load of laundry done.

And having pizza for lunch. From the pizzeria down the street, which has real pizza… instead of the crappy cafeteria pizza.

Normally when there’s a Friday-work-from-home, it’s because I’m planning to go somewhere. No sense in adding an extra 45 minutes to any journey I might undertake, which on a weekend is usually to see the ‘rents. (Commuting will kill you, doncha know?) But I try not to visit my parents on Memorial Day weekend. The route to M&D’s is also the route to the shore, and I can’t see spending an extra 3 hours on a good day, let alone at these gas prices.

So here it is… the weekend finally arrived… and I’m chillin’.  Hope things are good in your corner of the world.

PS Happy birthday to Miss Libby and Uncle Steve.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

3 Responses to Working at home is better

  1. If you could somehow work while taking that shower it truly would be ideal.

    Posts like this one inspire me to want to try harder at the freelancing stuff.

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      Well, I can THINK about work while I’m showering, but that reduces the enjoyment level of the shower.

      Anyway, I think to some extent it’s the contrast of the in-the-office experience and the working-from-home experience that makes the latter so good. I prolly wouldn’t like it nearly as much if it was the everyday occurrence.

      Like

  2. Tonight I was looking for something to watch on my Netflix Instant Queue and came across a Brian Regan comedy special. I remember you’d mentioned him and posted a couple of clips, so I decided to check it out. Laughed my ass off and ended up watching a second one. (They were Comedy Central specials – “Standing Up” and “The Epitome of Hyperbole”). Good stuff, and he really does remind me of Seinfeld. Thanks for turning me on to him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

