Best. Christmas. Present. Ever.

After I’ve-lost-count-of-how-many days of eating the (still very tasty) chicken pot pie (and at least another day to go), I needed a break.

Oh, but what to eat? I have so conveniently (and so easily) reverted to a cooking-less life. Nothing is defrosted. It was a late night at work and anything-and-everything will be effort.

Ugh.

A cooked hot dog garnished with mustard.

Better with Spice... Image via Wikipedia

And then, like a small miracle, I remembered what I DID have in the fridge: hot dogs.

No, wait. Understand that I don’t actually like hot dogs all that much. (I know… it’s almost un-American of me.) They are, in fact, the sort of thing that I decide sounds good once a year (say, around Memorial Day) and then could happily do without for the rest of the year. The only problem, of course, is that they don’t sell hot dogs at the grocery store in single-servings. So us singles end up with way more servings than we need, especially if (like this single) once a year is puh-lenty.

So normally, the sudden awareness of hot dogs would not be something that would solve my dinner problem. No, normally it would just engender a vague feeling of food-wasteful guilt.

But I also remembered something else. I own a food processor. (Best. Christmas. Present. Ever.)

And dill pickles… and hot peppers.

I may not be excited at the premise of hot dog but I can totally get behind the idea of a holder for freshly made spicy relish.

I could almost start to think hot dogs are good for more than once a year.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to Best. Christmas. Present. Ever.

  1. Also, best. garage. sale. find. ever. I love my food processor! I also really dig hot dogs, definitely more than once a year. I love the idea of creating a spicy relish for them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

