What we’ve missed while my internet connection was floopy

Cover of "A Short History of Nearly Every...

A Great Read: Cover of A Short History of Nearly Everything

Yesterday was a “Ladies Day” … the ladies were over. L brought homemade bread, K brought homemade jam. I made homemade coffee. It was good, as usual. Almost everyone made it over, so I had a full house. Good times.

The nap afterward was also pretty nice. 🙂

I’m making some headway on A Short History of Nearly Everything. It’s a science book for non-scientists. Because it’s a science book it’s getting out of date with every day it exists. I mean, not horrifically so, but it is interesting, for instance, to finish a section on how Pluto had been debated as a planet or not, but its planetary status was (in 2003, when the book was published) safe. Of course, that’s a decision that’s since been overturned. Poor, poor Pluto.

It’s thoroughly interesting reading… which is another “problem.” I have a hard time putting it down once I get started on a section, which makes it wholly unsuited to before-bed reading. It’s smart and funny. In chapter 4, “The Measure of Things” is this brief passage, as an example:

The second half of the eighteenth century was a time when people of a scientific bent grew intensely interested in the physical properties of fundamental things – gases and electricity in particular – and begin seeing what they could do with them, often with more enthusiasm than sense. In America, Benjamin Franklin famously risked his life by flying a kite in an electrical storm. In France, a chemist named Pilatre de Rozier tested the flammability of hydrogen by gulping a mouthful and blowing across an open flame, proving at a stroke that hydrogen is indeed explosively combustible and that eyebrows are not necessarily a permanent feature of one’s face.

Really, how can a person NOT enjoy a book that sprinkles in, amid the science and history, tidbits like that?

The only other negative I could note is that it’s also heavy. I mean… HEAVY. Suddenly I need an e-Reader (or greater upper body strength). Preferably an e-Reader that will show pictures/illustrations. Because the pictures are also pretty cool, and not to be missed.

Anyway I’m about 1/3 of the way into it, and enjoying it greatly. Can you tell?

Now it’s Sunday. Peapod has delivered the items I ordered – the bulk of which was soda (the delivery charge is that much more worthwhile when I’m having bulky or heavy items carried up the stairs for me, instead of making tons of trips up and down the stairs (and across the lot and through the courtyard). Now if I just get some laundry done, I’ll be able to call this a productive weekend.

Guess I ought to go get myself together for that purpose, no? Harrumph, I hate laundry day.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

4 Responses to What we’ve missed while my internet connection was floopy

  1. That’s the sort of writing that makes anything interesting!

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      I struggled to come up with just one passage to quote. About an hour ago I came across this one: “Anything scientists say about superstring theory begins to sound worryingly like the sort of thoughts that would make you edge away if conveyed to you by a stranger on a park bench.”

      Like

  2. Patti says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation – I’ve looked at that one and wondered if I should read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

