Best wishes and rhythmic idiocy

Novelty wedding cake

Image via Wikipedia

OK, we’ve caught up to the calendar again, just in time for me to be tied up elsewhere. Because I won’t be much for blogging today. Because I have to be elsewhere for the day. Because my cousin is getting married. One of the “little” cousins. A whole bunch of the “little” cousins, on both sides, have been getting married and starting families.

The “little” cousins are not exactly little – weddings and children-of-their-own being good indicators of this, on the whole – and it freaks me out just a little bit.

It’s tough to be the first cousin. You know what that makes me? It makes me the old cousin. I am one of the cousins who are closer in age to some of my aunts and uncles than to some of my cousins. And since the “Little” cousins stopped aging in my head somewhere between 10 and 20 years ago… for them to be getting married isn’t just weird. It’s wrong.

Anyway. My cousin is getting married. I’m really happy for her, and I’m sure she’s really excited. So… I gotta go send my best wishes, and dance like an idiot at the reception.

Is there any other way?

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to Best wishes and rhythmic idiocy

  1. I know what you mean. I’m not the first cousin, but I am the second cousin, and only by a few months. My youngest cousins are 17 years younger. Still, we get along pretty well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

