Safely home

Jesus with children, early 1900s Bible illustr...

This is the image of Jesus that most resembles how I pictured Him when Pop-pop would read me stories as a child. (Image via Wikipedia)

I am safely in heaven, dear ones;
Oh, so happy and so bright!
There is perfect joy and beauty
In this everlasting light.
All the pain and grief is over,
Every restless tossing passed;
I am now at peace forever,
Safely home in heaven at last.
And He came Himself to meet me
In that way so hard to tread;
And with Jesus’ arm to lean on,
Could I have one doubt or dread?
Then you must not grieve so sorely,
For I love you dearly still;
Try to look beyond earth’s shadows,
Pray to trust our Father’s Will.

My grandfather passed away a few days ago. The poem above (unattributed) was shared at his funeral services.

We who know where he is, and in Whose care, rejoice for him even as we miss him.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

4 Responses to Safely home

  1. My deepest sympathies and condolences on your loss.

    Like

  2. Pingback: One wild ride « aka Gringita

  3. Pingback: One wild ride « aka Gringita

Leave a Reply

