Five points of holiday whatever

More semi-random thoughts as the holidays approach…

  • I got my “family” Christmas shopping done. Like, DONE. Like, everything has arrived, everything has been wrapped, and everything has been delivered south to the ‘rents to ultimately make it to Sis’ for the day-of celebration. Can you say, “Relieved to have that taken care of”?
  • That said, I still haven’t really done any serious Christmas-carding. I decided to go “green” this year (which is as great a cover for “lazy” as any, thankyouverymuch) and not send cards. You know, except for the revenge cards, to retaliate when someone sends one to me. Yeah, OK. And the 5 people in the wide world I can’t NOT send a card to, for fear that if I didn’t send them a Christmas card we’d lose all track of each other. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, yo.
  • The local radio stations went all-Christmas-all-the-time at Thanksgiving (again) which just means that I don’t listen to those stations for, oh, about 3 weeks out of the year. Until I’m ready for Christmas carols, in other words. On the way to work last week I listened to “Holly Jolly Christmas,” and I realized… I was ready for Christmas carols. Finally.
  • Just for the record, I can listen to “All I Want for Christmas Is You” by Mariah Carey pretty much any time during the year. And I will probably start dancing when I do. Even if I’m in a store. (So it’s probably good that it’s only pulled out this time of year.) It’s sad, really, that I can’t control that. But so fun. So get over it.
How the Grinch Stole Christmas!

Image via Wikipedia

  • For all I’m ready to wrap my mind (and, as I said, even the gifts) around the idea of Christmas being here, I haven’t decorated the apartment. Yet. Considering that some years I’ve only done the manger scene (and that entails taking one item out of box and putting it on display), and that this year I haven’t even been able to manage that much, it’s pretty pathetic. I mean, really. One box, one item. Done. How hard would that be? And I’m thinking about the ornaments for my tree, the ones I really love and make me smile to look at, and I’m wondering why I haven’t just thrown the tree up already. And then I think about the whole tree assembly, and the dusty closet in which the seasonal items live, and I start to feel Grinchy…Ooh! I have the Grinch around here somewhere. The real, animated, proper Grinch-Stole-Christmas. I think I’mago watch that. Merry Christmas, gang! You know, in case I don’t talk to you before then…
About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

2 Responses to Five points of holiday whatever

  1. hello100blog says:

    Reblogged this on Hello100blog.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The best gift « aka Gringita

Leave a Reply

