Small tragedies

Do you have a favorite mug? The one that you just love drinking your coffee/tea/hot chocolate from?

I do. Not only do I love drinking my coffee from it, but it makes me smile just to look at it.

You see, this is my favorite mug:

Side One - hand print of First Beautiful Niece (FBN), then age 6

Side Two - hand print of Second Beautiful Niece (SBN), then age 2

I love this mug.

I like seeing it as I pull it from the cabinet.

And when I sip my coffee from it on a weekend morning, I tend to hold it with my hands over their little handprints… like I’m holding their little hands.

Well, anyway, it was my favorite mug.

But the other day when I was washing it, I accidentally dinged it against the faucet. I checked it, and it seemed fine, no problem, potential crisis averted. Whew.

Until I went to put hot liquid in it, at which point a hairline crack opened up.

So I don’t think the mug can be safely used any more. For now it will still live up in my cabinet, where I can look at it… but my days of using it are over. (Sigh.)

Well, I still have the pictures. And I have my other favorite mug, from when FBN was 3. (Pre-SNB).

But it’s still a sad, sad day.

You know, in small ways.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

6 Responses to Small tragedies

  1. I once had a favorite mug that broke after about ten years. I too was devastated – until I learned my parents had a twin in storage that they promptly bequeathed to me. Whew! I handle it with a lot of care these days.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Use it as a pencil holder or something! Then you can still feel good every time you see it.

    Like

  3. Pingback: And so they come « aka Gringita

  4. pozycjonowanie says:

    I’m very proud of my gold pocket watch. My grandfather, on his deathbed, sold me this watch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

