How did it get to be Sunday already?

“Somebody just gave me a shower radio. Thanks a lot. Do you really want music in the shower? I guess there’s no better place to dance than a slick surface next to a glass door.” – Seinfeld

Example of an American grocery store aisle.

Whatever else, they did manage to help me avoid this place. Image via Wikipedia

That smile comes to me (and now to you) as one of the 52 thoughts for this year.

Let’s see what else there is to tell you this weekend…

Laundry got done. I got up early today (to be well ahead of the rush and scheduled Peapod delivery), and got two loads of wash done, with only the smallest dryer-related frustration along the way. So my drawers are full of clothes, as are all the places where laundry can be hung to dry or laid flat to dry.

In other words, my dining room table will not be free for any other purpose for the foreseeable future.

Also, Peapod delivered today. They were supposed to arrive between 12 noon and 2PM.

At 1:45PM they called to let me know they were running late, and I should expect my delivery by 2:45PM.

At 2:55PM I was getting pretty annoyed. Both because I don’t like being lied to (again, as you’ll see), and because if I’m not there when I’m supposed to be, I get charged a penalty. If they don’t show up on time… I’m a prisoner waiting for them.

At 3:10PM the delivery actually arrived. Which means my order managed to be late twice.

This is extra impressive since LAST time I ordered, they were also supposed to deliver between noon and 2, and at 1:30 they called to let me know it would be more like 2:15. In reality? 2:45. So over my last 2 orders they’ve been late 4 times.

I’m not even sure who to be mad at about that. When my driver did arrive, he was apologetic, courteous and quick. There was not a moment wasted, at least in my presence. This makes me think that the problem lies with the scheduling system and/or dispatchers. Aspects with which I have no interaction and no means to let my frustration be known. (Yes, I know. I could call customer service and lodge a complaint. I worry that my driver will end up taking the brunt of the blame when the reality may be that they are overbooking. And if that happens, bad things could start happening to my groceries before I get them.)

Incidentally, this is the same thought process I have when the new guy in the cafeteria at work keeps trying to ask me out. All other concerns aside, I am vividly aware of how awkward it could be to have to see someone every day after things don’t work out between us. Heck, forget awkward… I don’t want to have to worry every day if my lunch is being laced with cyanide.

But I digress.

In any case, now there are groceries in my apartment. The makings of a beef stew are prepped for early this week. A chicken is thawing to roast later in the week (or next weekend, depending how long the thaw takes). I had baked sweet potatoes with dinner for an extra treat. Mmm. Taste the antioxidant goodness.

And that’s me. I’ll bet you think this post was totally worth the wait, right? What? Where are you going?!?

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to How did it get to be Sunday already?

  1. I’ve contemplated grocery delivery services before, but ultimately I think I’m too much of a control freak to relinquish my right to pick out the perfect bunch of bananas myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

