What are you searching for?

English: The three biggest web search engines

Image via Wikipedia

I’m almost sure there’s a song lyric there somewhere. Or maybe I’m just thinking of U2.

I don’t understand why I have hits on my blog that say they came from a search engine, but there’s no search terms. Not even the catch-all mystery category of “Other Search Terms” that they apparently use to mean “we’d love to tell you but one or more search engines wouldn’t tell us what your visitor was looking for that led them to one of your posts.”

It would appear that there are a lot of people interested in the prayer life of Biblical figures, if the number of related searches and hits I get on [this blog post] are any indication.

Lots of people seem to be interested in food-and-cooking related posts (as evidenced by the number of searches related to Chicken Soup, Guava Empanadas, and the like). I love the Foodies; they are such cheerful visitors! And clearly a bunch of folks who are sorely disappointed to arrive here and discover how infrequently I actually post anything about food. (If that’s what you’re here for, you can try the “experiments in cooking” category. But I warn you, it’s very light. And not in a “great for the waistline” kind of way.)

And then there’s the most disturbing trend lately. There are an alarming number of searches for terms related to the getting or sending ecstasy through the mail, which was not the purpose of [this post] at all. Another set of crestfallen seekers, I’m afraid. You know, unless they were taking the stuff at the time of the their search; on TV the people on X are all artificially (manically, idiotically and almost sickeningly) happy and loving… you know, right up until they either drop dead or murder someone.

Welcome to my flotsam. I hope you find what you’re looking for. Even if it isn’t here. Unless you were looking for drugs. That definitely won’t be here. In that case, I hope you find some help.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

4 Responses to What are you searching for?

  1. Michelle S. says:

    I get the mystery searches with no terms on my site too. All I can figure is that they remember the blog’s name, but not the URL. But I could be wrong, too… 🙂

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      Considering the name of your blog – which I love by the way – I would imagine you get some search traffic that’s a bit… off-color. Like, people “accidentally” missing one of your “L”s. (Or. You know. Not-so-accidentally; looking for a completely different type of site altogether.) I wonder how *that* shows up in the search terms report?

      Like

Leave a Reply

