New addiction: post-dinner perfection

TGI Friday's Salted Caramel Cake (image from TGI Friday's site)

TGI Friday’s Salted Caramel Cake (image from TGI Friday’s site)

If dessert is on the agenda (and it shouldn’t be, but occasionally is), I tend to prefer Chocolate. Or Tiramisu, obviously. Because HELLO? Chocolate is practically its own food group, and a well-made Tiramisu is practically a slice of heaven on earth.

But when the boy and I went to grab a quick dinner the other night at TGI Friday’s, I decided to try their new Salted Caramel Cake.

Even though it has no chocolate.

Even though it says it’s Salted caramel cake.

But I was intrigued, and decided to give it a go.

I never use textspeak, but let me just say: O. M. G.

It arrived at the table in the smallest of dessert cups. Suitable for one person. (Which I am, so that’s perfect. Provided no one else wants any. Because there WILL NOT be sharing. It’s that good.)

The small triangle of cake is based with a caramel cookie and has a layer of vanilla pudding. Neither one would normally be something that would excite me. But the cake was just the right mix of texture and flavor… and both the caramel cake and drizzled caramel sauce was rich without being heavy.

I did, in fact, offer the boy some of my dessert. He shook his head, making a face. He told me he doesn’t like caramel. “Really? I would think it would be something you would really enjoy,” I said. “It’s mostly butter and sugar, and you like both of those.” And honestly, the caramel did taste like the most delectable buttery sugar ever. The hint of salt really set the whole thing off.

It was fantastic.

It’s been a couple of days, and I’m still wishing for another.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to New addiction: post-dinner perfection

  1. Pingback: Progress reports make me hungry. Apparently. « aka gringita

Leave a Reply

