A soothing Saturday

No-Knead Bread - Finished Loaf

Not mine, but still… No-Knead Bread – Finished Loaf (Photo credit: Denna Jones)

I met with the Ladies this morning. Not at my place… my apartment gets too stifling in the summer to have people over. Packing 6-10 more people in here at high temperatures… well, it’s not a pretty thought.  So we met at the church office instead, and it was great to see them all again.

Then I came home. Cooked the turkey pot pie I’ve been meaning to make. Did my workout. Had the pot pie and got the rest put away in single-serving units (to try to keep some kind of portion control in place when the sheer yumminess tries to overwhelm).

I also got the BOX of information from Oklahoma on things to do and see when I go. I perused and chilled out and intermixed tunes with movies for the afternoon.

And now I have no-knead bread setting to rise. It’s 1/3 whole wheat flour, and some herbs worked in for good measure. By morning I should have some idea of whether it’s actually rising (the yeast was not QUITE as bubbly as I’d like) and by this time tomorrow I should be pulling fresh homemade bread out of the oven.

Which leaves me very conflicted. Because I really want it to hurry up and be tomorrow evening. And I really don’t want to hurry Sunday evening along.

I’ll get over it. All in all I had a nice little Saturday.

I hope you’re having a good weekend!

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

2 Responses to A soothing Saturday

  1. I hope the bread turned out. If nothing else, it looks delicious in that pic! And turkey pot pie. Oh. Hell. YES.

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      The pot pie was fabulous (even if I do usually prefer Chicken. And my bread came out MUCH prettier than this pic. It was a little oval, and I sprinkled on sesame seeds for the last 15 minutse of baking. It was GORGEOUS. I really wish I’d thought to take a pic before I cut into it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

