Spicy mama

Hot stuff, baby.

I like it hot!

My food, I mean.

This weekend I made myself another shepherd’s pie wannabe, with some decidedly racy variations.
I basically just made this up based on what I had in the house, but it was pretty tasty. (I know, I know… you experts out there will figure out how to make it gourmet. Dude, I don’t cook, and I had limited ingredients. I was just happy with “available” and “edible” so “yummy” on top was a bonus)

The meat:

  • 1 lb of meatloaf mix, because that’s what I had on hand (your ground meat of choice is up to you). I browned it and drained it well, then threw in some salt, fresh ground black pepper, and a liberal dash or two of cayenne

The veg:

I normally would have chopped up a red pepper or something, and maybe even a carrot, but none was on hand. Besides I was totally on a “hot and spicy” kick.

  • 4-5 pitted olives (no pimentos because I don’t like them), chopped fine (I could have used more, but I wasn’t sure how strong they’d be. Honestly, I didn’t taste them, so I could have used more)
  • 10-12 banana pepper rings (pickled jalapeno rings), also chopped fine, with a little of the liquid retained
  • 1/3 cup of salsa

I threw all that together, and let the liquid start to simmer off

The binder:

  • 1 small can of tomato paste (hey, can I call that a veggie too?)

Sautee all that together to let the tomato start to caramelize and some of the salsa liquid boil off, and then press it into a greased cake pan or small baking dish

The topper:

  • 2 cups of mashed potatoes (I used a package that said it serves 4, and just microwaved them ahead to be ready on demand. Leftover potatoes work too, if you have some on hand), pressed on top of the meat mix
  • 1/4 cup of shredded cheese (I used a mexican blend), sprinkled on top of the potatoes
  • A liberal sprinkle of parmesan cheese (for texture), sprinkled on top of the shredded cheese
  • Salt and pepper

Place the pan on a cookie sheet or a sheet of foil (in case of bubble-over) and bake for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees (longer if you use leftover potatoes and they are cold)

Slice, eat, yum.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

2 Responses to Spicy mama

  1. I like it hot too, baby!! And that sounds lip-smackingly good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

