Oct 9: Adventure day 11


Today’s planned itinerary:

Nebraska and Iowa en route to Kansas City, Missouri.

“Omaha… Somewhere in middle America.. . Getting right to the heart of matters… It’s the heart that matters more.” – Omaha , Counting Crows, August and Everything After

I drove the hour north of Lincoln to Omaha, Nebraska and crossed the river to my first official stop of the day: the Union Pacific museum in Council Bluffs, Iowa.

That makes my 10th state this trip, for anyone that’s counting.

Council Bluffs is a picturesque little town with lots of railway history (there’s also a RailsWest museum in town) and the sound of train whistles in the air (not unlike what I hear from my place, so that felt homey) and a classroom of colorfully dressed preschoolers being herded down the street on a towrope (ok jump ropes with a teacher at each end and what looked like at least 15 of the little dolls holding the line and marching in a row between them.

If it wasn’t creepy to take pictures of strangers’ kids, I totally would have. It was that cute.

From there it was three hours to Kansas City, Missouri. Three measly little hours on nice straight high-speed highways – that felt longer than any part of my trek to date. I’m sure the poor night’s sleep (and skipped meals) had something to do with it, not to mention the ominous cloud that hovered darkly over me literally the whole day. (It wasn’t really overcast… there was always the hint of sunshine happening just ahead, beyond the everpresent cloud cover, I just couldn’t get to it.) The scenery was just as lovely as any other to date; Nebraska rolling hills gave way to Iowa’s flatness which extended into Missouri until it became hills and trees in autumn colors again.

Didn’t make it feel any shorter, though.

But whatever the reason his heart or his shoes, he stood there on Christmas Eve hating the Whos, the restless night or the gray day, in any case I was feeling pretty fried by the time I made it into town.

My hotel is nice though, and very close to the Plaza so I headed over to walk around and find something munchy to tide me over until the hotel reception this evening. (Reception = WINE, people! FREE wine – just a little tipping recommended. Well, maybe when you consider the charge for wifi access, it’s a wash, but still. It’s wine without anywhere to drive afterwards.)

So anyway, in town I stopped in at Brio Tuscan Grille, where I sat out on the patio (which was fine, ominous cloud or no) and tried the bruschetta sampler, and started to feel like a person again.

Now all I need is a free-ish glass of wine, a piece of the dark chocolate I bought myself for dessert, and to get my belongings in order so I can hop a flight West tomorrow for the next leg of the journey.

I still have just a few hours in the morning for Kansas City, if there’s something you feel strongly I should see. Let me know.

Otherwise, I’m off to Albuquerque and the Balloon Fiesta. Other things to do and see while there? Let me know!

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to Oct 9: Adventure day 11

  1. Pingback: What I liked best « aka gringita

Leave a Reply

