C is for Clumsy

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto: Taso de kafo. Français : Photo d’une tasse de caffé Español: Taza de café (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And Coffee, and Company. But mostly for Clumsy.

The Ladies were over in the morning. Always a good time, when the Ladies are here.

Because I’d had guests on Thursday I only did a quick Swiff & Swipe to prepare for their coming: as I told them, they were getting “leftover cleanliness.”

But the coffee was on, and fresh (I made too much, having messed up my headcounts somehow, but better too much than too little).

And then the ladies left, and I tidied up.

And did the laundry, of which there was quite a bit (couldn’t do it before as my dining room table becomes a drying rack and I couldn’t see us drinking coffee and eating the yumminess that K & L brought over with my damp sweaters as a tablecloth.

And I shined a pair of my boots (first time adventure, yay me).

And I took out the garbage. Which is where the Clumsy part comes in.

Because I was almost to the bottom of the stairs (mercifully) when I lost my footing. I got my hands up and was able to keep myself from hitting the door face-first and/or snapping my neck. What I couldn’t do was get my feet back under me to stop the fall from happening.

In slow motion I realized I was going down. In slow motion I scrabbled for purchase, to no avail. In slow motion, I prepared to smash my knees on the landing at the bottom. While in very fast motion indeed, I prayed for help.

My knees were not broken. My knees were barely grazed.  My shins, on the other hand, took the full brunt of the impact of those final two stairs.

One leg scraped up. The other one just a bit scratched. Both impossibly sore and swollen where the bones themselves feel bruised.  The tip of one toe instantly purple from the impact. All other colorations will likely appear in the days to come.

I’m thankful I didn’t fall from higher. I’m thankful I don’t seem to have actually broken anything.

I still said some very choice words. Or one, anyway, multiple times.

So like all weekends, this ones had its ups and downs. The downs a bit more literal than one might typically experience. I hope yours was mostly Up.

Update:
image

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

12 Responses to C is for Clumsy

  1. Ouch. I hate that moment when you know you’re about to fall, and are helpless to do anything about it. You always envision the worst-case scenario in those instances.

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      Yeah, it’s a terrible, helpless, idiotic feeling. But on the bright side, I didn’t fall from the top and end up a heap of broken bones at the bottom. Which I guess would have been that worst-case scenario.

      Like

  2. Alice says:

    I still remember the awful wound on your shin from our kitchen barricade. 😦 Sorry you got new ones.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Oh! That looks absolutely horrible. I’m so sorry you fell, so glad it wasn’t worse.

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’m so sorry you got hurt. What an unfortunate way to continue what started as a lovely day. (Ample coffee supplies, critical for a lovely start). I recently missed the bottom step of my basement stairs, carrying a cooler. Needless to say, I and cooler ended up on the floor, with a little knock on the ping ping table with my chin, as a bonus. Since then, I find myself counting the stairs as I go down. Six NOT five. Glad it wasn’t worse for you. Heal quickly and well.

    Like

  5. Pingback: C is for Contusion. And Cold Compresses. | aka gringita

  6. Pingback: C is for Caution | aka gringita

  7. Pingback: The Perks of Being Clutz | Miss Four Eyes

  8. Pingback: D is for Dinner | aka gringita

Leave a Reply

