C is for Cake

Candles spell out the traditional English birt...

Candles spell out the traditional English birthday greeting (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Apropos, since April is a busy birthday month. And today is also Young Mrs. B’s birthday, for which there will almost certainly be cake.

(Young Mrs. B makes some of the most delicious cakes ever, but I am not sure if she would be baking for herself.)

Meanwhile I have been wondering if my shortcake recipe can be doctored to make a nice maple cake.

Wow. That’s a leap, right?

I first had maple cake when I went to the Canadian Rockies. (Went with Rocky Mountaineer. Loved it.) Our evening in Kamloops included a kitschy show and buffet dinner (my expectations for buffet dinners tends to be low, and this greatly exceeded it) and a slice of maple cake.

Won.der.ful.

Nowhere else we went along the way had it, and I mostly forgot about it once I got home. But now I am thinking that since Bisquick makes decent shortcake (CAKE!) and decent pancakes (which pair nicely with MAPLE), surely there’s a way to get from here to there, no?

So maybe one day soon I’ll tinker with options. Maybe I won’t. We’ll see.

But either way, a very happy birthday to Young Mrs. B. And all you other April babies out there.

Have some cake.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to C is for Cake

  1. Compulsive Writer says:

    Nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award… http://lorileighriddles.com/blog-posts/

    Like

Leave a Reply

