And the fail goes on

Not me. But I felt just like this. [Image Source: Microsoft ClipArt]

After all the frustration and heartache of the car dealership fail I mentioned in my last post, you’d think it could just get resolved already, and we could all move on.

Not so.

This morning I dropped my car off at the dealership (which, because I’m that ticked, I’m going to name again: Global Hyundai in North Plainfield, NJ). Because I’m a household of one person and one car, taking my car for service would usually mean staying with the car while it was worked on (in the interest of fairness, over the years I’ve dealt with some very nice, friendly, helpful people in their service department). 

But waiting for my car to be serviced, my friends, is a collosal waste of my time (and in this case, it would be all day and a waste of my vacation time as well). So I begged a pickup from a colleague (who had the day off so instead I was wasting her time & gas in the effort; PS I can’t express how thankful I am to her).

Nevertheless. I dropped the car, and waited for my ride, and went to work.

And by the time I got to the office, I had a call from the dealership.

Telling me that the fix, with parts and labor and all that, is almost $200 more than I was quoted last week from the other repairs place, who I only didn’t have do the work because they couldn’t get the part for another business day – and as I mentioned: one person, one car. In a state not renowned for its mass transit options. (Read as, I have no other options.)

That wasn’t the only bad news the dealership wanted to let me know, though.

Remember how I said in my last post that the dealership should have the part I needed available?

For context: the events of my last post actually took place a week ago. A WEEK. It was a week ago that I learned what the problem was and AND that the repair (oops) just missed being covered by my warranty AND that the other place couldn’t get the part and wasn’t anywhere close to conveniently located so I might as well bring it back to the dealership who has done all of my previous repairs because I have been a loyal customer. AND when I reconfirmed that appointment with the dealership, literally ONE WEEK ago, I specifically let them know what the problem was and that they were going to need this exact part.

And yet, despite my explicitly telling them this a full week ago, they don’t have the part available.

So would I mind if they just keep the car overnight and pick it up tomorrow?

Yes, I would mind that very much. In fact, I let the nice young lady that mans the phones and was having to be the go-between with the service manager who couldn’t be bothered to take my call his-or-herself, that it was completely unacceptable, and why, and why in light of all this history I didn’t think it was my problem to wait for them to get this part overnight. They knew they needed the part, and they needed to find a way to get the part and get it there for same-day repair. (Not said but loudly thought: Honestly Global Hyundai Service, I don’t care much if you have to send someone to another dealer in another part of the state to drive out and go pick up the part. Warning was given. This is officially YOUR problem and not MINE.)

Incidentally, it may be unfair and it’s not at all usually the thing I’d think, but I’m so frustrated about it that I can’t help but wonder if I had been a man, and I had called to reconfirm my appointment and told someone what the problem was and what part would be needed and that they should make sure they had it on hand, perhaps someone would have taken it more seriously. That if I’d been a man, they’d have believed that I might have an inkling about what was needed, and done something about it. 

Or not, I don’t know. Is it better or worse, I wonder, if the issue is sexist, or a general  failure to listen and respond to a customer?

Half an hour after talking to the nice girl on the phone, I got the promised call back, now from a member of the service team (I am not sure about exact role, I just know it was “Bob”), reiterating that the part couldn’t be there, and there’s nothing they could do about it. The repair could be effected tomorrow.

No apology. Just the fact of it. I told him what I’ve told all of you. Including the ridiculous price differential, and the fact they’d had a week to get the part in. Still no apology. More firmly now: “Miss, it’s going to take until tomorrow.”

You know why women sometimes want to cry when they’re angry? Because of the pain of holding back the screaming going on inside their heads. [Image Source: Microsoft ClipArt]

I was beside myself with anger. In fact, I was so angry that I was at real risk of crying. And at that moment I didn’t want to cry.

“I see. Well. I’m a household of one, with one vehicle. If you need my car overnight, what exactly am I supposed to do?”

(I’ve learned, you see, not to SUGGEST they should get me a loaner car. They very consistently say “No” when I ASK for it. In fact, they did exactly that when I discussed it with them last week. But I damned well expected them to OFFER this time, and he did. Though I’d have been a lot less ticked off if they’d led with that, rather than make me push.)

Then, he wanted to know when I thought I could come pick up the loaner. 

“At [the same time I’d previously stated I’d pick up my car], as that’s when I’ve been able to pre-arrange for a friend to bring me back there.” (Thought but not said, partially because I wouldn’t be able to say it in a way that wouldn’t be rude, and partially because it wouldn’t solve anything: What part of “no other way to get around when you have my vehicle” is confusing to you? Dumbass.)

So as of this moment, the saga of failure continues for a bit longer…

Interestingly, though, just a day or so ago, Global sent me an email offering to sell me another vehicle.  This is what we call a failure in timing of a campaign. Not unlike trying to pitch me a new car while I’m on hold unsuccessfully trying to resolve a problem and/or the cable company suggesting I upgrade while I’m on hold reporting a service failure. (Seriously, why do companies do that? Does ANYONE take them up on those offers? Because they only make me more frustrated.)

Would I like to buy another car from you today?

HA HA HA HA HA.

No. 

And unless you find some way to “wow” me from here on out on this issue, you won’t be doing any more of my service work, either.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to And the fail goes on

  1. Pingback: Unintended comedy | aka gringita

Leave a Reply

