Revisiting

I’d been to the Big Island before. About 4 years ago, with my parents and one of my aunts. My parents had said they were only making the trip once, so we went and we worked the guidebook to see as much of the island we possibly could.We saw a lot. I wore them out on that trip, making sure we saw all we could in case we never came back.

But we never made it to the volcano. Kilauea, I mean, because there are 5 volcanoes on the island, and 2-3 of them are considered active at present. Kilauea, the most active volcano in the world, and we missed it.

The first time.

Not this time. This time we made sure we saw the one major thing we’d missed the first time around.

Kilauea Iki Crater floor

Kilauea Iki Crater floor

Oh yeah, and I went to the top of Mauna Kea….

Sunset on Mauna Kea

Sunset on Mauna Kea

And amid this and many other wonderful things along the way, I am pretty sure I’ll need to see the Big Island of Hawaii again in the future.

Not even counting all the Hawaiian islands I still haven’t had a chance to visit.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

4 Responses to Revisiting

  1. Congluteous says:

    Spectacular!

    Like

  2. When Kilauea started erupting again in the mid-80s, we missed it by *one weekend.* Never did get a chance to see lava.

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      Yea, the lava we could see was only after hours and from a distance (or from overhead, via helicopter tours, which we didn’t do this time) The location it’s visible during the day isn’t accessible otherwise (shrugs disappointedly, and then gets the determined “I’ll go back!” look)

      Like

Leave a Reply

