Throwback… Tuesday? (kindred spirits)

Yeah, yeah. The meme is “Throwback Thursday.” And it’s only Tuesday. But sticking to the meme proper would be insufficiently flotsamy for my taste.

Plus, who can wait that long?

I posted this back in 2010, originally. So much has happened since then. So much has changed, and so much is the same. And something wonderfully exciting is brewing on my horizon, and this post helps put some context around an exciting new development for those who haven’t been here long enough to know why…

You see, I have a trip planned, and that always makes  me very happy indeed. Every time a new detail falls into place, I get awfully excited, as I am wont to do in the planning stages of an adventure. No surprises there, really.

But THIS trip (God willing) is not only going to take me to a place on my travel short list…

Even better, even more…

THIS trip (God willing) is going to put me on the same continent as my friend, Miss May.

What’s more, though I’ve never met Miss May in-real-life, THIS trip (God willing) is going to let me actually meet her. Perchance even to spend a day together.

And that just makes me happy and nervous and dance-around-the-room excited

And I can hardly wait!

From December 2010:

 

Once upon a time, in a land called Yahoo! 360°, I had a blog. I don’t know that it was a particularly good blog, or interesting blog, or well-written blog. But I blogged my anonymous little heart out, and some wonderful things happened…

First: people read my blog. Who woulda thunk? And nicer still, more than 10000 hits later (yeah, I was there for a while), not one felt the need to post back anything along the lines of “Wow, you stink at this.”  (In fairness, they might have occasionally thought it, but not so strongly that they felt the need to point it out.)

Plus in the process, I discovered kindred spirits. In some cases, new friends. To name just a few…

I “met” the Divine Ms Em when her blog was Featured (the 360 equivalent of being Freshly Pressed). She is − among other wonderful things − a traveler at heart. She has a wonderful independent spirit and loves new places and new adventures. We have yet to meet in person, but I always think that if we ever traveled together (humbug to the single-surcharge!) we would have a great time.

On 360 I also discovered the poetic artistry of Mei Xiu.  Miss May, as I call her today, shares with me a love of words and books that crossed oceans. I doubt I will ever touch her poetic gift, but she encourages me nonetheless. She’s also something of a shutterbug at times. Though we only know each other in these small ways, I count her a dear friend… even if we haven’t quite managed to be on the same continent. Yet.

And now here I am — having moved my blog to WordPress, still trying to rediscover my voice in this new world.  There are endless interesting, fascinating, thought-provoking blogs here; my subscription list grows by leaps and bounds. And along the way, among others, I have discovered Girl on the Contrary. I so enjoy her humor and wit.  It turns out that we share a near-debilitating flirtation impairment, an aversion to men-in-the-ladies-room, and (as I learned today) a love of the Chronicles of Narnia that prompts both of us to re-read them annually. Plus, given unlimited resources, we would both opt to travel the world and write about it.

Actually, I strongly suspect Em would agree as well. Possibly May too. Hmm….

Across the interwebs there are an endless number of writers with whom I feel some kinship, some connection.  We are different — oh the beauty of a diverse universe — and yet we are alike.  I’ll discover another kindred spirit tomorrow, I’m sure.

I can hardly wait!

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

2 Responses to Throwback… Tuesday? (kindred spirits)

  1. Pingback: May in Wellington in October | aka gringita

  2. site says:

    Your means of describing everything in this piece of writing is really good, every one can simply know it, Thanks a
    lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

