Dad, you’re like a father to me.

…And I really mean that.

So said the card I gave my father for Father’s Day. In our house, there’s one immutable rule: you can give mom as gushy a card as you like, but Dad wants a card that will make him laugh.

I spent last weekend over at my parents’ house, mostly oversleeping and mooching from their supply of coffee and snacks, eating better than I do at home (where I am solely responsible for the process), and getting far too much credit for helping in even the smallest of ways.

AND, celebrating Father’s Day and my sister’s birthday, both just a hair early.

June is another of those busy months for birthdays. I missed Alec’s (yes, I am a heel; sorry man), and Michael’s is coming up in a blink, and today is D’s birthday…

Love-love-love you, darlin’. Happy birthday.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

3 Responses to Dad, you’re like a father to me.

  1. I’m with you. Moms get sappy cards, dads get funny cards. There should be a law stating that somewhere.

    Like

    • aka gringita says:

      Maybe we could start our own set of laws… Do you want to write a Very Impressive Preamble, or should we just slap the #1 in front of your comment, and see where it takes us? đŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Ha! That’s clever. And your mooching process is pretty much exactly what I do when staying with brother or sister-in-laws! It’s nice to be the youngest đŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

