Spontaneous sidebar

Chicago cityscape. Image Courtesy of Microsoft Partner Fotolia

My company is sending me to a conference in Chicago.

On the same dates last year, my company sent me to a different meeting, in Miami. I came home to discover the apartment complex had changed all the doors in my absence. And the locks along with them. I had managed to leave scant hours before they notified us all, so I missed that notice, and it was just a big, horrible, confusing surprise when I got back.

But that seems unlikely to repeat.

So off I will go to Chicago. And while I know that Chicago is a city with much to offer — honestly, no offense to those who live in and work in and genuinely love Chicago — the thing is… it’s a city.

I live near enough to NYC to be able to access “City” as often as I’d like, and I access it well nigh to never. However much it may offer, “City” does not appeal in general.

Plus I have been to Chicago, so the newness factor – always a win – does not apply.

And although I am sure the conference will be good, it will mean long days of being “on” and evenings being “on” or hiding out, and so whenever I thought of this trip, there was a (sigh) attached to it.

As in: I’m going to (sigh) Chicago.

Except

It turns out Chicago is less than an hour in either direction to Wisconsin and Michigan.

There are only 5 states I haven’t visited yet, and do you know what states are among them?

US States I have heretofore NOT visited

That’s right.

Flight change, car rental, hotel adjustment… minor adventure in the making.

Because you know, I have another adventure coming up in just a couple of months, and a major excursion I’m planning for next year, and a minor one that just got on my radar, and none of that was enough to fully satisfy my wanderlust.

There is seriously something wrong with me.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

4 Responses to Spontaneous sidebar

  1. I like the way you think. I’d probably do the same thing if I were you. In fact, when we were in Nevada a couple of weeks ago, we were about 30 minutes from the Utah border and I suggested we drive there “just because.” Unfortunately, I was overruled. Yes, I have been to Utah before – more than once – but it just sounded like something fun to do.

    Next, be sure to cross OR and WA off your list!

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hope things are going will in the Windy City. If, in fact, you’re not out somewhere in the Michigan wilderness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

