Invisible strings

This looks familiar,
Vaguely familiar…

I spent the weekend at a reunion – if you can call a first-time meeting a reunion. But in this world of online connections, these people who came together to bring and receive Christmas cheer have become something more. A mini-tribe, as it were. It’s hard to believe that 8 months ago, we were all strangers.

Close to my soul, and yet so far away
I’m going to go back there, someday

Less so, now.

And still less strangers, as little clusters find or make opportunities to meet up here and there.

I’ve never been there, but I know the way
I’m going to go back there someday

The largest meet-up to date was last weekend in the DC area, at one dear lady’s home. From all corners of this country, not to mention 2 other continents, some of us were able to get away, and get together.

We’re flying not walking, on featherless wings
We can hold on to love, like invisible strings

It was a wonderful time, in so many ways (though of course in a perfect world I would have been able to be in 3 places at once – at a birthday party with dear friends, and visiting with my family, while simultaneously meeting these new friends).

There’s not a word yet
For old friends who’ve just met

I am blessed to have so many people — people I’ve just met, people I’ve known for years, people I’ve known their whole lives, people who’ve known me my whole life — who are a blessing to me and who I love enough to be missing. Tonight. Right now.
I am thankful to God for every one of them.

You can just visit, but I plan to stay…
I’m going to go back there, someday.

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

4 Responses to Invisible strings

  1. agenda19892010 says:

    Happy Tuesday ☺

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    So cool that you were able to do that! Meet up with new, old friends.

    Like

  3. Alice says:

    You were missed. Glad you had fun though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

