Old San Juan (or, When It Rains, It Pours)

The plan for my only full day here includes a walking tour of Old San Juan. I’m up early, knowing I will fight rush hour into the city on my way and not sure where I’ll find parking. As it turns out, there’s a paid lot just 2 blocks from the meeting point. I have time for a macchiato and a small pastry. 

Puerto Rican coffee is so strong that it needs the doctoring. But it’s good.  

Flavors of San Juan puts on a good tour, including an exploration of rum (and piña colada to start the day right). We sample a variety of local cuisines as we walk through the city. It rains in and off (and a magic jacket with bug spray makes me some new friends) as we cross cross the city. Afterward, I trek back to the far side to El Morro….

While the sky just absolutely opens over me. 

Soaked to the skin and resembling a drowned rat, I nevertheless get a photo before trekking back again. 

A rain soaked fortress

About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

One Response to Old San Juan (or, When It Rains, It Pours)

  1. Congluteous says:

    Like that photo! What a trooper. Glad you liked Puerto Rico. I visited my uncle there in 1970. When I stepped off the plane I was shocked by the sudden heat and humidity. It was all uphill from there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

