Choosing thankfulness

When the clock says I could sleep 2 more hours and my body is having none of it – having, say, awakened at 3am and refusing to go back to sleep – my first thought is along the lines of, “ugh, what could be worse?”

A lot, actually.  Here’s some (10) ways I could be thankful in the midst of that circumstance … aka /ways in which I am undeservedly blessed/:

  1. I woke up at all
  2. I woke up in a bed, in a place that is safe and has heat
  3. I woke up because I woke up, not because I was in pain
  4. The only reason the alarm matters at all is because I have a job
  5. I’m waking up thinking about that job, not (been there, hate that) about how I’ll find one or having to interview this morning 
  6. I woke up 2 hours early, not 2 hours late
  7. That extra time was quiet and peaceful and worshipful
  8. That extra time meant I wasn’t racing to set up coffee (which I’d forgotten last night)
  9. I was out the door a few minutes early, and therefore just in drizzle and not full-on thunderstorms en route
  10. God is good, all the time. Even when I’m exhausted and would rather be sleeping. 
About aka gringita
Flotsam generator. Amateur photographer. Avid traveler. Christ follower.

Leave a Reply

